Monday, March 14, 2011

P.Caoile Cup: Inter Collegiate Chess Team Championship;Philippine College of Criminology bet shines!

Letran College captured the P.Caoile Cup Inter Collegiate Chess Team Championship scoring 23.5 points  , 2.5 points ahead of runner-up University of the Philippines "A".  Ateneo de Manila University "A" managed only a 3:1  score over University of the Philippines "B"in the final round  to finished  third place with 19.0 points. Colleges and University Sports Association (CUSA) titlist Philippine College of Criminology (16 points) , backstopped by Michael Kevin Baltazar,the young newcomer who shamed many veterans with his 6 out of 7, four of these wins coming from the black pieces finished fourth over-all , ahead of National Collegiate Athletic Association bet Arellano University (15.0 points) and Region III SCUAA titlist Tarlac State University Mens Team (14.5 points). University of the Philippines Team "B" finished sixth with 13.5 points. A total of 12 teams from various collegiate league participated in the events organized by the Ateneo de Manila Univesity.


23.5 points ---    Letran College
20.5 points ---    University of the Philippines "A"
19.0 points ---    Ateneo de Manila University
16.0 points ---    Philippine College of Criminology
15.0 points ---    Arellano University
14.5 points ---    Tarlac State University
13.5 points ---     University of the Philippines "B"
12.0 points ---     Ateneo de Manila University "B"

Individual Results

Board 1
Gold-         Chester Guerrero   (Letran)      6.5/7
Silver -       Alcon John Datu (Ateneo "A')  5.5/7
Bronze-      Nikki Capinpin (Ateneo "B")   5/7

Board 2
Gold-         Ivan Gil Biag  (Letran)                        7/7
Silver-        Jeffrey Ravago (Arellano University)    5/7
Bronze-     Franz Barreto (UP"A")                       4.5/7

Board 3
Gold-          Benjamin Lising  (Letran)                     5/7
Silver-         Melvin Orlanda (Tarlac State University 4/7                                  
Bronze-      Jaymarc Gutierrez (Arellano University) 3/6

Board 4
Gold-          Marc Nazario (UP"A")                       6/7
Silver-         EJ Plan (Ateneo "A")                          6/7
Bronze-      JohnPiccio (Letran)                             4.5/7

Board 5
Gold           Michael Kevin Baltazar (PCCr)          6/7
Silver-         Ronald Tong  (Ateneo "B")                3.5/7
Bronze-      Cathy Perena    (UP  "A")                  3/4

Board 6
Gold-          Krizza Abasolo ( UP  "B")                 4/5
Silver          Gemalyn Miclat (PCCr)                     3/6

Bronze-      Finly Dacanay  (UP  "A")

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Marc"Ballen"Baltazar is 2018 Caloocan City Fiesta chess champ!

The champion Marc "Ballen" Baltazar  Marc Baltazar defeated top seed Sammy Benitez and second seed Christian Del...