Friday, December 31, 2010

Age does'nt matter,Azmaiparashvili rules 2010 ASEAN OPEN!

GM Zurab Azmaiparahvili clinch the title by the slimmest of margins over IM Oliver Barbosa of the Philippines.Azmaiparashvili and Barbosa both finished with 4 wins and 5 draws to bag the top prize in the nine-round Swiss System tournament.IM Barbosa defeated FM Timothy Chan Wei Xuan in the final round.GM Susanto Megaranto of Indonesia was solo third with 6.0 points. GM John Paul Gomez another Olympic campaigner from the Philippines finished in a tie for 4th to 9th place with 5.5 points. Also in the same scores were IM Nguyen Van Huy,IM Richard Bitoon,GM Cao Sang; GM Dao Thien Hai, and FM Nguyen Duc Hoa. FM Timothy Chan Wei Xuan had 5.0 points to emerges as the highest placed Singaporeans in the tournaments which attracted a total of 32 players. Philippines sent the most number of entries with 11 players, 3 more than the host Singapore and Indonesia.Nelson Mariano III and Kim Steven Yap also scores 5.0 points.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Marc"Ballen"Baltazar is 2018 Caloocan City Fiesta chess champ!

The champion Marc "Ballen" Baltazar  Marc Baltazar defeated top seed Sammy Benitez and second seed Christian Del...