Saturday, December 18, 2010

India rules 6th Asian Schools Chess Festival 2010

India bagged the overall championship in the 6th Asian Schools Chess Festival 2010 held in Colombo,Sri Lanka as it won five individuals and six team titles.Saina Salonika and Aravin Ram topped the under-7 girls and under-7 Open, respectively,with both scoring perfect 9/9 performance.AP Karthik ruled the under-11 Open categories while Aryan Chopra topped the under-9 Open category.Mohanty Smarahy delivered the fifth individual gold for India by winning the girls under-13 category. Host Sri Lanka won two individual category courtesy of P KUM  Jayasundara in the under-15 Open category and Natasha Sanali  in the Girls-under 15 category and four team titles. Iran won two courtesy of Mobina Alinasabalamdari in the girls under-11 and Arian Khorsandi in the Open under-13 category.Malaysia won the remaining individual gold through Teh De Zen in the Girls under-9 category.Malaysia sends only two players.


COUNTRY                                GOLD          SILVER    BRONZE    TOTAL
INDIA                                        11                 4               4                 19
SRI LANKA                               6                  8               7                  21
IRAN                                          2                  3               3                  8
MALAYSIA                               1                  0               0                  1
SRI LANKA "A"                        0                  3               3                  6                                          CHINA                                      0                   1               1                  2
AUSTRALIA                             0                   1               0                  1
UNITED ARAB EMIRATE       0                   0              2                   2

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Marc"Ballen"Baltazar is 2018 Caloocan City Fiesta chess champ!

The champion Marc "Ballen" Baltazar  Marc Baltazar defeated top seed Sammy Benitez and second seed Christian Del...