Monday, February 7, 2011

Belous rules 2011 Moscow Open International Chess Festival; Barbosa finished 9th over-all

Untitled Vladimir Belous of Russia finished with 8.0 out of 9 to bag the top prize of 120,000 rubles in the nine round Swiss system Moscow Open International Chess Festival.  Belous
ranked only 38th  in the tournament with a FIDE rating of 2497 defeated GM Nikolai Kabanov in 42 moves of a Sicilian Defense in the final round to clinch the title. The Philippines IM  Oliver Barbosa finished in a tie with seven others  for second to 9th place with 7.5 points,however he finished 9th  over-all after the tie break.Also with the same score were Zhou Weiqi (China) 2nd place; GM Yu Yangyi (China) 3rd place; GM Farrukg Amonatov of Tajikistan;IM Igor Kovalenko of Ukraine;GM Maxim Matlakov of Russia;GM Stanislav Voitsekhovsky(Russia) and GM Sergei Tiviakov of Netherlands. Barbosa,who become the Philippines youngest national master at the age of nine years old during the 1998 Far East Bank Open, won against the 11th ranked Sergey Bolkov(2597) in 66 moves of a Dutch defense.Barbosa had two passed pawn and a rook remaining against Boljov's knight  when the end came..Kabanov who led the first 8th rounds,finished in a tie for 10th to 23rd place.GM John Paul Gomez,the other Philippines entry with his 3rd straight draw this time against China's Lu Shanglei,finished  in a tie for 24th to 51 st place. The prizes are not divided and the winners are determined by the Buchholz tie break followed by the number of wins and the progressive scores.

FINAL RANKING    (unofficials)
1ST  Vladimir Belous                  8.0 points                     120,000 rubles
2nd   Zhou Weiqi                        7.5 points     59.5            90,000
3rd   Yu Yangyi                          7.5 points     59               70,000
4th   Farrukh Amonatov             7.5 points      56               50,000
5th   Igor Kovalenko                  7.5                55.5            40,000
6th   Maxim Matlakov                7.5                54.5            35,000
7th   Stanislav Voitsekhovsky      7.5                53.5           30,000
8th   Segei Tiviakov                    7.5                51.5            25,000
9th   Oliver Barbosa                   7.5                45.5            25,000

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Marc"Ballen"Baltazar is 2018 Caloocan City Fiesta chess champ!

The champion Marc "Ballen" Baltazar  Marc Baltazar defeated top seed Sammy Benitez and second seed Christian Del...