Monday, April 18, 2011

2011 Thailand Open Chess Championship 9th round: Top three seeded players dominate 2011 Thailand Open !! ; Mariano 13th over-all

It's a 1-2 -3 finished  for the top three seeded players at the 2011 Thailand Open Chess Championship. Involved in a complicated three-way tie for 1st place, Jan Gustafsson of Germany who scored 7.5 points out of 9  won the thai-tle with a thai break score of 55 points. Nigel Short of England finished second also with 7.5 points but a lower tie break score of 54 points ; Francisco Pons Vallejo of Spain finished third with 7.5 points and 53.5 tie break points.FM Martin Voigt and Yang Kaiqi of China shares 4th-5th place with 7.0 points. Yang Kaiqi defeated Achem Illner in only 23 moves of a Petroffs Defense. Gustaffson needed 50 moves of a Kings Indian Defense to dispose Kjetil Stokke while Short defeated Abhijit Kunte of India in 46 moves of Sicilian Defense.Pons Vallejo playing black won against GM Niaz Murshed of Bangladesh in 24 moves of a French Defense.   GM  Sune Berg Hansen(2603)of Denmark  defeated Nelson Mariano III of the Philippines to finished 6th with 6.5 points Also with the same score were GM Jha Sriram(India) ; IM Roy Saptarshi (India);IM Somak Palit (India) and  Max Illingworth of Australia.Nelson Mariano III of the Philippines finished in a tie with 15 others for 11th to 26th place with 6 points. Mariano finished 13th over-all after the tie break.Mariano won  against N Sanjhay (2335)of India ; IM Thomas Williamze(2390) of Netherlands ; IM Roy Saptarshi (2395)of India; IM Daniel Contin(2316) of Italy and Suvich Tachaplalert(1792) of Thailand. Mariano loss to  GM Win Lay Zaw(2382) of Myanmar and GM Sune Berg Hansen(2603)Denmark.And draw against FM Achem Illner(2353) of Germany and FM Shiya Kojima (2329) of Japan. Unofficial Nelson "Elo"Mariano obtained an IM norm with a 67% performance and also gained +30 rating points.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Marc"Ballen"Baltazar is 2018 Caloocan City Fiesta chess champ!

The champion Marc "Ballen" Baltazar  Marc Baltazar defeated top seed Sammy Benitez and second seed Christian Del...